Sales jumping on Google play today – first rejoice, then analyse

Today was the first day of the Google I/O conference. I din’t get to go, but, I was happy to watch the keynote live at https://developers.google.com/live/ in the morning. I was impressed by the Nexus 7 tablet, of course. I rather like the 7 inch form more than the 10 inch. The battery life and the specs are quite impressive and unbeatable at the price.

I was coding away in the afternoon on the next game to be released in about a month. Around 2 or 3 o’clock I noticed a pickup in the orders coming through for Kindergarten Math and Kindergarten Shapes. Sometimes that happens, then things slow down again. There’s ups and downs. But not today, not yet anyway. The orders kept coming in steadily. It ended up being the best mid-week day for orders ever.

Engineer as I am, I have to know why. And quickly, I formulated my theories –

  1. I fixed a bug and released the fix yesterday. Maybe people got notifications from the update, and seeing a responsive developer, decided to buy it. It could be a temporary bump.
  2. It’s start of summer holidays. Parents are worried about the summer brain drain, and bought the app to keep the kids practicing a little. The interest may last for the summer.
  3. Google play introduced a new recommendations engine along with Nexus 7. The more effective recommendations engine is driving the sales. This would be a great thing. Not just for me. But, also for customers and for other publishers. Everyone wins when customers can find what they want.

I don’t know which of the above it is. I will update in a weeks time. In the meantime, I will just rejoice and enjoy the success. And, of course, continue to work on the next app, the best one so far.

Update 2 days later

Alas the bounce did not last. But, the good news is that the upgrade was well received. The bounce was because of the upgrade. Overall sales are still higher in the summer than they were in the spring.

Google’s new recommendation engine will take longer to effect sales – months or even years. We’ll just have to wait and see.

Leave a Reply

