Learn, learn, learn more till you find your dream

We have all heard the saying

Try, try, try again till you succeed.

For success in the modern computing or business world, its more like

Learn, learn, learn more till you find your dream.

Learning is not just about attending courses. Or paying for classes. Learning is more about doing and trying things we know nothing about, things that make us uncomfortable.  Not uncomfortable in any sense of hurt, but, in the sense of doing something outside of the norm for the individual.

Learning starts with stepping out of our comfort zone

As a developer, designer, project manager, it is easy to keep doing what we are accustomed to. If we know how to build beautiful web pages, we keep building web pages. If we know how to build server software, we keep building server software. As we grow, and become experts in our area, we are even less likely to step out of our comfort zone.

Learning leads to growth

Building my own company and creating apps for kids, I have stepped out of my comfort zone…as much as I can handle. I was a server software expert, and now I write pure client code. Creating graphics and multi-media effects is very new to me. So is marketing. Blogging about my experiences is new. Teaching is new. Java is still my comfort zone. Game programming is new. Tough as it was, it was only when I stepped out of my comfort zone, that I could grow.

Failure leads to learning

Trying something outside our comfort zone can also lead to failures. I had more than my share of failures. Failures are just part of learning. If I fail, I know I learnt something new. Learning and growth cannot happen in companies that don’t appreciate failure. Treating failure as a problem, instead of something to learn from, is counter to teaching. I want to build a company with a culture of teaching, a culture of learning, a culture of failure.

Try something, fail, learn.

Try, try, try again till you succeed.

Leave a Reply

