Finding Our Way Back.

Sheyma was one of my students at UW PCE for the Android Certificate Program this year. She holds a Masters in Software Systems. She is also a stay at home mom (SAHM). Sheyma is just one of the women who have taken my class who are SAHMs. Last year, there were two. One who hadn’t worked for several years, and another who din’t think she would apply to get a job after the course either. They all did very well in the class. The class is practice driven and project based. They could all obviously solve problems and code. They had the desire and drive to learn – key qualities companies look for in candidates. But, they can’t work for a company. I understand. Neither can I. We have given up on tech companies, but not on tech.

I found my way back to tech by building apps to teach my kids math, science and reading. Without that, I don’t know what I would have done. Creating and sharing apps with my kids saved me. I hope I can help others who wish to do the same.

Sheyma just published her first app – Farsi For Kids – Reading. Try it out. Here is her story, in her own words –

I wanted my 4 year old son to learn Farsi from the comfort of home. I tried to teach him myself, but he didn’t want to sit still and listen. Since he likes playing with Mobile apps I looked at the play store but I couldn’t find any app that teach Farsi to kids. This was actually when I decided to take the Android app development class. I am a stay at home mom, I have a Masters degree in Software Systems. So that worked best for me.

I enjoyed the first class with Ana and since she is an experienced developer I learned a lot from her. Even though it is a simple app but because I was new in this, it wasn’t easy for me to build it. Especially designing for different screen size and density was challenging.

I want to improve this app by adding some other functions and graphics to make it nicer. Also I am making another application that teaches writing in Farsi. I would probably publish it as a separate app.

I am so proud of Sheyma for all that she has accomplished and all that she continues to build. Keep it up!
PS. Sheyma is looking to go back to work now that her son goes to pre-school. She wants to work. Hire her!

Leave a Reply

