Where are the orders coming from?

I’ve been meaning to visualize the sales of Infinut apps on a map for a long time. Finally got around to it. It was easier than I thought it would be. The steps were –

  1. Wrote a quick and dirty script to take the google-play reports on Infinut app sales to build a spreadsheet with Country, State, Number of sales columns.
  2. Opened MyMaps in google maps. (I made the mistake of going to full google map engine first. The google map engine lite (now called MyMaps) was what I needed)
  3. Created a map in MyMaps, and imported the data. This youtube video helped me figure out how – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9j1Xgx_8O9k (Note: The limit of rows is 2000, not 100 now). I imported the data from my computer, not google-drive – either should work.
  4. Changed the labels on the map to color code using the amount of sales. Darker the color, more sales in that region. Reference the following link –  https://support.google.com/mymaps/answer/3024931?hl=en
  5. Embedded the map into wordpress.com infinut website – http://en.support.wordpress.com/google-maps/

I can zoom-in and zoom-out to see the sales more closely. Here’s are few surprising things I found –

  • Maximum sales in the US are in Texas and California. I would’ve thought they would be higher where we are – in Washington state. But, that’s not the case. It seems Texas is more tech-savvy than I gave it credit for too.
  • I was curious if sales from Ireland are concentrated around Conor’s hometown – Monaghan. But, that’s not the case either. They are quite distributed.
  • UK, Canada and Australia have similar number of sales.
  • Singapore is another surprisingly higher number of sales. Lot of Singaporeans interested in Math, I think.
  • Sales in Latin America, Russia and China are very low – that is also explained by the apps being available only in English language.

Overall, its very interesting to be able to see the data on the map so quickly. I enjoyed building it so much, I completely forgot about the time. I just realized I am hungry now… off to lunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

